Test credit card numbers

Whenever I work on ecommerce sites, there is always dreaded moment when you are supposed to test it against actual credit cards. Well, I am not crazy to pull my cc and wave with it in front of site in development and others are not more brave. However there are certain numbers that can be used for testing and they are here to rescue us. Since each time I would spend time googling them, I figured I will just publish them here and someone else might find it useful as well.

CARD TYPE TEST CARD NUMBER TEST EXPIRATION DATE
American Express 370000000000002 Any date after the current date
Discover 6011000000000012 Any date after the current date
MasterCard 5424000000000015 Any date after the current date
Visa 4007000000027

Any date after the current date

 

This also reminds me about when I had problems with Office Depot card. I wrote about how OD IT went to my rescue in the end. My card was the one issued by Chase (big difference as you will see). Now thing is that they would tranfer me left and right, the only person I didn’t speak with was their CEO and CFO, which is a shame. Anyway in this bouncing me around the phone line, the only persons that would actually listen to me and try to help me were employees of Citi Bank which incidentally was also issuing cards for Office Depot, and they would hear me out and then when they would go on to try to help me, they asked for number, I would tell them the number and they would stop me in the middle and say, that is wrong number, we need number that starts with … Ouch.

So I learned you should carry Citi Bank card and most likely you will not even need to discover how helpful their customer service is.

One thought on “Test credit card numbers

  1. mancy May 2, 2008 / 12:58 am

    some commonly different ones:

    Visa 4111111111111111
    MasterCard 5431111111111111
    DiscoverCard 6011601160116611
    American Express 341111111111111

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

