Making DIY IPad stylus

So, few things iPad is missing are: SD card reader and good stylus. It turns out, at least for this other thing there is an easy remedy.

After seeing one my colleague Mat got, I realized it could be easily made. Here is the one he got, it is very flimsy and doesn’t give you very good feel.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2358529,00.asp

I started off with experimenting with different materials. It turns out that those gummy kitchen sponges works exceptionally well.

diy_ipad_pen 011

After that I experimented with how to fit sponge into pen and which one would be good for it. It turns out, from my vast collection of pens and writing paraphernalia, very few can be used. Only Parker Jotter was close and because of how deep barrel of the pen is, I have to give up of sticking sponge through it.

I had to think long and hard what could be used for it and then it hit me to use drinking straws for it. For a moment it looked like this will not be good, but it turns out it works fantastic. Responsiveness of touch-screen to it is awesome. It is very easy to manipulate icons as well as to draw in drawing apps.

diy_ipad_pen 009  diy_ipad_pen 010

I hope this will inspire other people to make their own, maybe few in different colors. Let me know how it goes.

 

Now I am trying to find good app for jotting down notes and sketches. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Making DIY IPad stylus

  1. Sean June 29, 2010 / 11:18 pm

    So, you stick the sponge down into the hollow pen? Just making sure I recreate the right scenario here. 😀

    BTW, (totally unrelated) I came here for your post about credit card numbers. Thanks for posting that!

    — Sean

  2. Zeljko Dakic June 30, 2010 / 2:02 pm

    That post about cc numbers I made because i was always hunting them online 🙂

    Yes, that is pretty much it as far as pen goes, as long as it can transfer static electricity to the screen, you are good. Try it out and let me know how it went.

Leave a Reply

